Welcome New User! ( Create Account | Sign In )

Our members earned over $8,000.00 last month! Join Us

Start earning today!

This is answer 1 / 1

View All Answers for What is "The Page.com"?

Question

Submitted 190 days ago...

AEW

AEW

New User (1)

What is "The Page.com"?

I recently had a desktop icon labeled "Go to WWW.THE PAGE.com" covertly installed on my computer in connection with another program that I was legitimately installing. Inadvisedly nonetheless clicked on that icon and was taken to a site apparently inviting me to personalize a website of my own with my name. Is this a covert spy/malware attempt? And in any case, can I rid myself of any further problem with it, simply by deleting the desktop icon? Thanks.


This answer was edited by a moderator 185 days ago.

 
Answer
 

Submitted 184 days ago...

vrpoc

vrpoc

Professor (1,823)

I tried going to this site, but it takes me to another site that seems to be a little bit different than what you were describing. These sites don't look harmful, but I could be wrong on that.

Just delete that link, and you shouldn't have any problems with it anymore. I'm guessing that the program you installed has sponsors and one of the was www.the page.com.

If you want to be sure that any other extras weren't thrown into your computer, try downloading this, update it, and run it. It's free, and it doesn't sneak in stuff into your computer:

http://download.cnet.com/Spybot-Search-amp-Destroy/3000-8022_4-1012213 7.html?tag=mncol

 

Answer This Question Now

What is "The Page.com"?

If your Answer is chosen as the “accepted” answer, you will earn ongoing royalties on this thread.
Simply type your Answer in the box below and post your answer.


Email Subscriptions

Author adds clarification

All new responses

Related Questions
 

This Question has not been awarded yet.

Post your answer now!