Welcome New User! ( Create Account | Sign In )
 
Question

Submitted 282 days ago...

christiek

christiek

New User (3)

Is this company legal or a scam ?

I need to find out if this Canadaian company is legal or a they scamming? I tried to locate them on the map but shows 5 other business at same address. Company tells me they are a privatized company for that reason I won't find them on the map, but they share the same building with other business. Here is their Business license#05-088-009-621 and their Federal ID#01-864290-07. Can you please tell me if this is a real,legal and in good standing company or just another company who scams people. They faxed me a Loan application to fill out. With a 10%collateral they will loan me $10K at 6% for 4 yrs. Calling this a secured loan, because I have bad credit and I am trying to pay off bills and start new and rebuild my credit. Nothing shows up from the US or Canada BBB. I called the IRS and Franchise Tax Board both mentioned that a Fed. ID# should only be 9 numbers and not 10 but neither could say if the company is valid or not.

 
 
 

« Prev 1 2 Next »

Answers
 

Answer 1 / 11

Submitted 282 days ago...

sidelko

sidelko

Brain (3,016)

Do you have a company name, address, URL, email, phone number, etc that we can help you look them up with?

 

Answer 2 / 11

Submitted 282 days ago...

christiek

christiek

New User (3)

Here is all the info that I have: Plus the names
Onix Advisors Group
401 43rd Street E
Saskatoon, SK S7K 0V5
Ph# 1-800-948-1261
Fax# 1-888-662-9935
Email: info@onixadvisorsgrp.com and contact@onixadvisorsgrp.com

 

Answer 3 / 11

Submitted 282 days ago...

mma_mom

mma_mom

Expert (963)

You can go to http://www.scam.com/search.php to search. I searched the company name and nothing came up. I would suggest searching with more info. I personally would be careful with a company out of the country. If you aren't 100% sure of the company don't sign anything. Better to be safe than sorry.

 

Answer 4 / 11

Submitted 282 days ago...

Ruchele

Ruchele

Brain (3,118)

This sounds very similar to this question.

http://www.webanswers.com/business/internet-scams-babdb8

Loan Scam- In this scam a bogus company guarantees that an individual will be approved for a personal loan. However, before the funds are released the customer is required to send in a fee. Once the fee has been sent the customer never receives the loan. Be aware that it is illegal for a lender to ask for money before the funds are dispersed, if a loan has been guaranteed. Never do business with a company who presents such an offer.

It is important that individuals use caution when attempting to obtain a persona loan. It can be very tempting to jump at a juicy offer, especially if you’ve had credit problems in the past. However, this often leads to very bad results. It is in every individual’s best interest to investigate a lender to determine if they are legitimate before beginning a transaction. Also, it pays to be familiar with scams that are taking place around the country so you will not become the next victim of personal loan fraud.

Also, it is illegale to solicite over a fax number, this is a federal law and the company is subject to a $10,000 fine for doing so.

 

Answer 5 / 11

Submitted 282 days ago...

Ruchele

Ruchele

Brain (3,118)

Onix Advisors Group is not listed in the Federal LLC C-Corp or S-Corp data base, nor is the ID# legitamate, Nor is it listed with the Federal Banking Commision, or Federal Trade Commision.

 

Answer 6 / 11

Submitted 282 days ago...

sidelko

sidelko

Brain (3,016)

I agree, it sounds like it could be the same scam as this one.

http://www.webanswers.com/business/internet-scams-babdb8

Hopefully you didn't lose any money to them.

 

Answer 7 / 11

Submitted 282 days ago...

umbrella77

umbrella77

Beginner (60)

The mere fact you are already suspicious should tell you something. Go with your gut and pass on this application.

There are many companies out there that specialize in loaning money to individuals with poor credit, trust your gut and pass on this.

 

Answer 8 / 11

Submitted 276 days ago...

BOOH823

BOOH823

New User (4)

YES THIS IS A SCAM THEY SENT ME LOAN DOCS AND THE SAME PEOPLE THAT SCAMMED ME A MONTH AGO IS AMERICAN FINANCIAL AND I COMPARED THE 2 LOAN DOCS THE HAND WRITING ON THE DOCS ARE THE SAME BUT DIFFERNT NAMES IM GOING TO TRY TO POST IT GIVE ME YOUR EMAIL AND I CAN SEND BOTH TO YOU SO YOU CAN SEE

 

Answer 9 / 11

Submitted 273 days ago...

miltonalmeid

miltonalmeid

New User (2)

I just decided that they are a scam... They are soliciting me for a loan, but, upon thorough research, they don't show up anywhere either in Canada or the USA. Friday they told me that they are willing to post my loan first then take the fee just to prove themselves, but at this point I don't trust them. The lady I am dealing with is Deanna (pronounced Dee-nah)

 

Answer 10 / 11

Submitted 273 days ago...

miltonalmeid

miltonalmeid

New User (2)

Hey BooH823... Here is my email address written so the "crop" softwares won't send me junk email: miltonalmeida at gmeil dot com.

 

« Prev 1 2 Next »

 

Answer This Question Now

If your Answer is chosen as the “accepted” answer, you will earn ongoing royalties on this thread.
Simply type your Answer in the box below and post your answer.

Email Subscriptions

Author adds clarification

All new responses

Related Questions
 

This Question has not been awarded yet.

Post your answer now!